The Bangla effect

Bengali writer Sharatchandra remained my favorite, and I always wished to read him someday in Bangla. Every bengali girl appeared a liberated woman from his novel. 

Dusky yet chubby, nerdy yet flirt, melodramatic yet vivacious. 

The day I learnt the bangla script, I bought ‘sharat sahita samagra‘ and began reading the same stories in bangla. To magnify the effect, I switched my room partners to bengali guys and roamed around with bengali girls. My hairs began to curl and was almost about to get a thick spectacle. Could have almost married a bengali woman, but I survived. 

Pulled away from jaws of this magnetic culture. 

The beautiful people who love to preserve their culture, the literature and the music. No wonder, its one of the most read and spoken languages on earth.

Well, I went on to learn Marathi, Telugu and Kannada too. But, could never assail myself to literary adventures in these languages. They remained working languages where I could only talk and understand maladies of my patients. I can discuss cough, diarrhea, piles in all these languages but Kavi Kuvempu or PuLa Deshpandey remained a mystery.

When I came to Norway, I mastered Norsk in same way or rather a bit more organised than Marathi or Kannada. Now, I write complex scientific literature in Norsk and bit more grammatically sound than natives sometimes.

But, the bengali connection reigns supreme. It probably never played any role in profession or economics of my life. Just the literature or ‘sahitya’.

If one wishes to revive hindi, its not the signboards or official notifications, but the sahitya. Revive Munshi Premchand and Niralas, hindi would bounce back.

http://www.facebook.com/khilandar

12 thoughts on “The Bangla effect

  1. Good for you to know so many languages. I am just into Hindi and English, but have an affinity for Punjabi.

    I liked a couple of years in Kolkata though, but just learned ‘Hobe Na’

  2. Quite the multilingual, Mr. Indisk Bhaashi! Bravo.
    I grew up among a lot of Bengali teachers and students but never learnt the language. Now I lament the missed opportunities. Still understand it a bit and hope to learn it someday. Agreed, it’s a magnetic culture.
    Hindi literature has fallen way down the interests of readers, me included. All of us need to rediscover the magic of a “Mansarovar” or a “Godaan.”
    Terrific post, as usual.

  3. Chesta korlam Bangla script khuje type korte, but somehow did not work. Of all that I have known about you from your posts, eta jana chhilo na je apni akjon Bangla pathok o. Ami Kolkatay thakar somoy e jantam, bujhtam je Bangla as a language is well respected. But manush je ei bhasa ta k kotota respect kore seta bodhoy Bangalore na asle bujhte partam na. So far jader sathei Bangla niye kotha hoyechhe, sobai bolechhen je bangla naki khub e misti. Your post made my day!

  4. I am in awe of you, sir! I know a little bit of several languages, but struggle to make myself understood in anything but English, despite having attempted to learn several others.

  5. Ah i’m a bengali and this post makes me immensely happy! 😀 though i must say that i never got around to reading and writing bangla, i have the kind of connect that you have towards us, with the south and sambar 🙂

  6. Jha Sa’ab, had no idea you were a polyglot. I can barely read Gurumukhi and my spoken Punjabi isn’t all that great either. Kudos to you!

    1. Haha! I am not quite good either but yeah circumstances pushed me a bit. Besides, idea was not to get praised myself but to lift hindi. Think message went haywire again 🙂

  7. You ability to own a language always amazes me. You write in Hindi with the same, sometimes even greater flourish, as you write in English…and now you tell me that you have some other languages stashed away! Jha Sa’ab, I doff my hat.

Leave a Reply

