The second innings

One of my nerdy friend, have got two divorces and three wives already. I envy his facebook marriage updates. Probably, the planning begins right at time of marriage. While I have been busy looking for an accountant to manage my taxes, he had been much shrewd to hire a good divorce lawyer. 

Its not about talent. Both of us were barely 20-30 ranks apart in college days, now we are 2-3 wives apart. If each wife is given a score of 2, he is at whopping 6, while I have a measly score of 2 with two negative (-) points of kids making it ‘zero’….cipher…..shoonya. Damn! Its all about talent.

While many of my earlier posts (e.g. Desi midlife crisis) does point towards me being in ‘frustrated forties’, I am not. Neither my clicking ‘follow’ on any remotely girlish gravatar proves anything. That reminds me, I once followed a long haired fellow in half-downloaded gravatar on my phone, proved to be a thick-moustached, heavily bearded spiritual guru later. To magnify my embarassment, he would send ‘love and light’ in his comments. 

Anyway, a craving for second innings and to even the score did lead me sieving through unanswered facebook requests. I diligently sorted out wheat from the chaff, I mean women from men. Next step was to exclude ones with many hobnobbing mutual friends. Criteria was set to ‘less than three’ mutual friends. After adding all of them, I just waited, like my wife waits for ‘whistle’ of pressure-cooker. The vibrations, the dancing nozzle, and the warning muzzled sounds culminating to extreme shrillness announces ‘rice is ready’. I too was vibrating and dancing like a cooker nozzle. 

And, it worked!!!

Many, “Sorry! May I know you?”, popped on my mac. 

The question griped me, and pushed me to oblivion. Having spent close to 40 yrs on earth, world doesn’t know me. People win Wimbledon, become bollywood superstar, bomb countries by this age. And me? Sending facebook requests to girls? Is my identity restrained to a mutual friend? Nah!

I just snubbed off, unfriended all of them, and got back to life, wife and rice.

Second innings begin with fall of early wickets. 

Match forecast: Brutal thrashing, innings defeat and follow on, when wifey reads it.

9 thoughts on “The second innings

  1. One Dickie Birdie told me that its raining cats and dogs, and the second innings wasn’t possible at all. However, the third umpire doesn’t profess a shift in momentum!

  2. I could co-relate in my bachelor days one of my friends commenting abt a common friend, who just celebrated his 2nd marriage “Look the bastard going for a second helping as we are standing in line waiting to pick a plate” a typical scene in parties where there is a huge line for prospective hungry people. I wonder if the term second helping is aptly used for both the situations.

  3. Your friend updated his status being married third time but did he forget to mention about the alimony???
    ONE happy wife is equal to ONE happy life…Who needs more?

    By the way, the plot for 2nd innings was really amusing and captivating. You play well with words.

Leave a Reply

